Metropolitan Transportation Authority logo

MTA Press Releases

Press Release
September 19, 2017
IMMEDIATE
Marine Parkway Bridge Closed Overnight On Weekdays Sept. 25 – Oct. 25
No Closures On Yom Kippur, Columbus Day Or Weekends

The Marine Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial Bridge will be closed to traffic in both directions during overnight hours on weekdays from Monday, September 25th through Wednesday morning, October 25th. There will be no closures on Yom Kippur and Columbus Day, as well as weekends. During this time, all traffic will be detoured to the Cross Bay Veterans Memorial Bridge between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m., including the Q35 bus. The closures are necessary for upgrade work on the lift mechanism. Schedule is as follows:

• Monday, September 25 10:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m. Friday, September 29
• Monday, October 2 10:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m. Saturday, October 7
• Tuesday, October 10 10:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m. Saturday, October 14
• Monday, October 16 10:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m. Saturday, October 21
• Monday, October 23 10:00 p.m. through 5:00 a.m. Wednesday, October 25

Signs will be in place advising motorists of the closure and detour coming off the bridge.

Motorists can sign up for MTA e-mail or text alerts at www.mta.info and check the Bridges and Tunnels homepage or Facebook page for the latest information on this planned work.