MTA Establishes Transportation Reinvention Commission

Growing ridership, shifting demographic trends and a changing climate are certain to have an impact on transportation in the coming decades. In order to keep up with these challenges, the MTA has established a special advisory board of 22 experts who will be make up the Transportation Reinvention Commission.
The Transportation Reinvention Commission was created at the recommendation of Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo. In May, Governor Cuomo urged the MTA to consider changes in customer expectations, commuting trends and extreme weather patterns as it develops future Capital Plans, the multibillion-dollar five-year programs of MTA investments to renew, improve and expand the transportation network.
The Commission will be chaired jointly by former U.S Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and former Federal Aviation Administrator Jane Garvey. They will oversee 22 commission members serving on five subcommittees, each examining a different element of the MTA system in light of the challenges facing the MTA. They include experts on the MTA network and service territory, as well as on other transport networks around the world. Commission members represent business, construction, planning, transit, finance and advocacy groups, creating a wide range of perspectives on how the MTA should face its future.
“The MTA has made incredible strides in rebuilding the network that makes New York grow and thrive, but we can never be satisfied with what we have done so far,” said MTA Chairman and CEO Thomas F. Prendergast. “As we prepare the next Capital Plan to guide investment for the next five years, as well as future five year plans, we want experts, stakeholders and customers to offer their thoughts on how to make those investments work for decades to come.” 
The commission will host public input sessions featuring presentations by subject matter experts as well as opportunities for the public to comment. The commission’s report will provide its recommendations before the MTA submits its Capital Plan to the Capital Program Review Board by October 1. Short-term recommendations will inform the MTA’s 2015-2019 Capital Plan, while mid- and long-term recommendations will benefit investment plans well into the future.
The MTA Capital Program has allocated $114.7 billion to rehabilitate the region’s mass transit network since it was first established in 1982. Thanks to the formal process for identifying and addressing transit needs in each five-year Capital Plan, MTA customers have benefited from rebuilt tracks, modernized signals, rehabilitated stations and thousands of new buses and subway and commuter rail cars. Early Capital Plans focused on rebuilding a network that had fallen into disrepair after generations of neglect and disinvestment; later Capital Plans have enhanced the network with new technologies such as subway countdown clocks, as well as expansions such as the Second Avenue Subway and East Side Access. The current 2010-2014 Capital Plan includes $34.8 billion worth of investments in the MTA network, including $4.7 billion to recover from the devastating impact of Superstorm Sandy and almost $5.8 billion to make the MTA more resilient against future storms.
A full list of the commission members is below:

· Co-Chair Ray LaHood, Senior Policy Advisor, DLA Piper 

· Co-Chair Jane Garvey, North America Chairman, Meridiam Infrastructure 
· Rohit Aggarwala, Professor of Professional Practice in International and Public Affairs, Columbia University
· Richard Anderson, President, New York Building Congress
· Kate Ascher, Associate Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation
· Andy Byford, CEO, Toronto Transit Commission
· Isabel Dedring, Deputy Mayor for Transport, London
· Alain Flausch, Secretary-General, International Association of Public Transport (UITP)
· Dall Forsythe, Senior Fellow and Adjunct Professor of Finance, NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
· Craig Gotsman, Professor, Jacobs Technion-Cornell Innovation Institute, New York City
· Gary LaBarbera, President, Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York
· Kevin Law, President and CEO, Long Island Association
· Robert Lieber, Chairman, ULI New York
· Enrique Peñalosa, Former Mayor of Bogota, Colombia
· Robert Puentes, Director, Metropolitan Infrastructure Initiative and Senior Fellow, Brookings Institute           
· Denise Richardson, Managing Director, General Contractors Association of New York
· Gene Russianoff, Staff Attorney, Straphangers Campaign
· Veronica Vanterpool, Executive Director, Tri-State Transportation Campaign 
· David Waboso, Director, Capital Programmes, London Underground 
· Mark Willis, Executive Director, NYU Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy
· Larry Wolinsky, Chair, Hudson Valley Pattern for Progress 
· Kathryn Wylde, President and CEO, Partnership for New York City
· Robert Yaro, President, Regional Plan Association
· One additional member to be announced