MTA Chairman Resigns

Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Joseph J. Lhota is resigning from his positions at the MTA, effective at close of business on Dec. 31st.

Lhota submitted his letter of resignation to Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo, who nominated Lhota as Chairman and CEO on October 20, 2011. Lhota became Executive Director on November 14, 2011, and was confirmed as Chairman and CEO by the New York State Senate on January 9, 2012.

MTA Chairman Lhota Announcing His Resignation

The MTA Board voted at its December monthly meeting to name Board Member Fernando Ferrer as Vice-Chairman, succeeding Andrew Saul. When Lhota’s resignation takes effect, Ferrer will serve as Acting Chairman of the MTA Board until a successor is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

Ferrer served in the New York City Council from 1982 to 1987 before being elected Bronx Borough President from 1987 through 2001. In 2005, Ferrer became the first Latino to win the Democratic Party nomination for New York City Mayor. He will become the first Latino to chair the MTA Board.

“The MTA continues to face serious fiscal challenges, but I am pleased by the progress we have been able to achieve in cost containment and service improvements, as well as the swift restoration of service after Superstorm Sandy,” Ferrer said. “The MTA is blessed with a dedicated Board and skilled and loyal staff at every level. I look forward to working with management to continue to strengthen and improve the system that is so essential to the region’s daily life and economic vitality.”

Thomas Prendergast, president of MTA New York City Transit, which operates the subway and bus systems, will serve as interim Executive Director of the MTA when Lhota's resignation takes effect.

Prendergast is a veteran of more than 30 years in the transportation industry, beginning his career at the Chicago Transit Authority. He served at the Federal Transit Administration before joining NYCT in 1982, where he rose through the ranks to run the subway system from 1990 to 1994. He served from 1994 to 2000 as President of the MTA Long Island Rail Road, and returned to the MTA and NYCT in 2009.